Settling In

12 Feb

One more long ride, 50 miles tomorrow and we start our first recovery week. Roughly six weeks into training and all is well. Despite the cold temps, rain, snow, ice, drizzle we’ve knocked out the first chunk of training. With the exception of tripping on a crack in the sidewalk this morning on our run, I have not been any training accidents/incidents, knock on wood.

As we are settling into a groove with training, my own life has begun to settle in as well. My new job, while not easy, is less a source of anxiety than when I first started and beyond that, I am within the 7 week mark for completing my MBA.

I am tremendously excited to reach these milestones over the course of this year and it brings a smile (or maybe a smirk) to my face to briefly look back on the previous year.

The memories and bonds we are creating and making stronger through training/fundraising together are incredibly humbling. 50+ Ironman hopefuls supporting each other through our various mental and physical roadblocks is a powerful thing. I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be taking this journey with my IronTeam.

Leave a comment